Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Merdh Laleh – A/ Not A Breach, Repeat

Following a first appearance on the label’s inaugural VA, ‘Embrace‘, Copenhagen-based producer and multi-instrumentalist Merdh Laleh returns to Petrola 80 with his debut long-player ‘Water For Your Eyes‘, taking us for a compellingly deep and hypnotic journey across haunted ambient scopes and fleshly textured electro-acoustic folds, which proves an emotionally submerging listen throughout.

Our premiere ‘A/ not A breach, repeat‘ operates in the interstices betwixt murky drone dynamics, wistfully melodic instrumentals and a touch of verbed-out Ligetian dissonance. By turns distressful and thunderous, then seamlessly veering off the runway onto further serene and fulfilling horizons in a caress, Laleh’s music is one to be felt and experienced as an existential parenthesis, both symbolic and mysterious – sometimes an oasis, sometimes a black hole. Rewarding, always.

Water For Your Eyes is out now via Petrola 80, order a copy from Bandcamp.


1. Water For Your Eyes
2. A/Not A Breach, Repeat
3. In Katabatic Wind
4. As Inanna
5. Wedde
6. Peripety
7. Bliss Amidst Unknown Unknowns
8. Past Perennial Haze
9. Here You Come Again
10. H4twag

Discover more about Merdh Laleh and Petrola 80 on Inverted Audio.