Search and Hit Enter

Thugwidow revs up the hardcore for this week’s Newtype Rhythms

This week’s episode of our sister mix series Newtype Rhythms features a time-bending podcast from Manchester-based breakbeat badman Thugwidow.

After a series of inspiring and intensive releases for labels such as Hyperboloid, Warehouse Rave and Western Lore, he revs up his latest four-tracker on Sneaker Social Club, entitled ‘Post Modern‘.

While taking on familiar templates that entrenched the hardcore continuum into a mind-hive cerebellum, Thugwidow tweaks and twists things around by adding emotive subtlety to the proceedings with tact and tension that fuels the vigor felt long after tracks have reached their natural conclusion on the dancefloor.

That expertise is evident in their guest mix for this week’s Newtype Rhythms, as Thugwidow weaves through the many flavours of hardcore junglism to deliver one of the most energetic journeys that a guest selector has provided to the series yet. His mix starts at 38 minutes in, with resident Sheepshead warming things uptempo, per usual.


00:00 – 38:14 – Mixed by Sheepshead

1. Biosphere – In The Ballroom
2. Blawan – Make A Goose
3. Skee Mask – Crosssection
4. Breaka & Bakey – Club Dynamics
5. Nautiluss – WiFi Oasis
6. SK1 – Shockout Fass (X-Altera Remix)
7. Aphex Twin – PAPAT4 (pineal mix)
8. Volruptus & Jensen Interceptor – End Of The Human Race
9. Forest Drive West – Phosphenes (Wata Igarashi Remix)
10. Otik – Hunga (Dead Man’s Chest Cosmic Grime Mix)

38:34 – END – Mixed by Thugwidow

1. Phuture Assassins – Future Sound (2 Bad Mice Remix)
2. Groovy D – Project Zeus
3. Dwarde & Tim Reaper – Feel The Magic
4. Thugwidow – Lines of Snooty
5. Main Phase – Coral
6. Gremino – What Time Tt Is
7. Nphonix – Destroyd
8. Thugwidow – Big Ol Gurns
9. Thugwidow – Post Modern Assault Ethics
10. Dwarde & Tim Reaper – New Place
11. Estella Boersma – Round 1
12. Evelyn Saylor (feat. Lyra Pramuk, Annie Garlid & Stine Janvin) – Fantas Variation for Voices
13. Young Muscle – Come & See
14. BlueMatter – Bunker
15. Boody – We Had That
16. DJ Infinity & Back 2 Basics – People of Paradise