Search and Hit Enter

Jen Monroe buoys spirits with her ambient mix for Newtype Rhythms

This week’s episode of our sister mix series is a ride amongst cruising altitude; so there’s time to reflect and resonate with emotions unfurled. Once in a while, Newtype Rhythms takes a step back from the throttle and lets the surrounding elements take hold – and that’s why this week’s mix is a special one – courtesy of Brooklyn-based selector Jen Monroe.

Monroe is a Brooklyn-based DJ, writer and playlist maker – an oversimplification for sure, but a concise way to describe someone who certainly has the proof of their magnificent taste in the form of their website Listen To This. There’s absolutely no easy way to put it, but even taking a brisk stroll onto the website shows a swath of sonic appreciation for the uncut gems of ambient, new age, Japanese synthpop rarities – and that’s just scratching the surface. Additionally, Monroe has held residence at NTS since 2016 with her excellent “Getting Warmer” show, crafting specialty episodes ranging from classic K-Pop, gospel rarites to deep-cut Ryuichi Sakamoto.

All these accolades and more lead her to be a perfect pick for our sister series, and the stars aligned ever-so perfectly with this brilliant guest mix, along with a shared reverence for Yoko Kanno. There’s not much to say here except to dive right in; Monroe’s guest mix starts at 56 minutes with resident Sheepshead warming things up per usual.


00:00 – 56:16 – mixed by Sheepshead

1. Jonny Greenwood – Open Spaces
2. A Winged Victory for the Sullen – The Dead Outnumber The Living
3. Jóhann Jóhannsson – Flight From The City
4. Claude Debussy – Sirenes
5. Chinatsu Yamamoto – Clóe
6. Ichiko Aoba, Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto, U-ZHAAN – Smile
7. Jonny Greenwood – House of Woodcock
8. Steve Hauschildt – Horizon Of Appearances
9. Arovane & Hior Chronik – Past Creates The Future (feat. Aaron Martin On Cello)
10. Yoko Kanno – Orphan
11. Taku Iwasaki – The Sound Of Snow Falling
12. Akino Arai – 月の家

56:35 – END – mixed by Jen Monroe

1. Osnabrücker Jugendchor – Tibi Soli (comp. Gregorio Allegri)
2. Yoko Kanno – Pulse
3. Madonna – The Power Of Good-Bye
4. Wool – If They Left Us Alone Now
5. Goddess In The Morning – Ucraine
6. Jeanne Lee – The Miracle
7. Collage – Kodu Kaugel (Faraway Home)
8. Jane Siberry – The Lobby
9. Edson Natale & Natália Barros – A Flor
10. Yoko Kanno – Dew
11. Quarteto Em Cy – Caminho De Pedra
12. Ströer Duo – Vietnam
13. The Roches – Hammond Song
14. Elaine Kibaro – Les Coquillages
15. Björk – All Is Full Of Love
16. Daniel Bacalov – Verso Nord