Search and Hit Enter

Mute announce remastered box set of Pole album trilogy – 1 2 3

Stefan Betke’s pioneering minimal dub trilogy – Pole 1 (1998), Pole 2 (1999) and Pole 3 (2000) – are being reissued in the form of a remastered box set by Mute.

Released on vinyl (for the first time in nearly 20 years) and CD (remastered since its 2008 reissue), the box set marks 20 years since the trilogy was completed. The vinyl edition includes a bonus 12″, RAUM, originally released on DIN records in 1998.

Taking his name from a defective analogue Waldorf 4-Pole filter, the broken machine’s distinctive crackles gave Pole the starting point for his equally simple and subtle sound layers. Rhythmic textures and warmly pulsing bass lines join in play and, at least from Pole 2, experience a slow shift towards Minimal Dub.

Betke explains, “A common factor in all the releases was that they all originated in a kind of dub continuum. Melodies have never been my motivation – they were always more peripheral. But across those albums, the reverbs and the bass lines were always related and interlinked with each other. By working that way, I didn’t feel as if I was under any artificial pressure, and I could allow things to end loosely in order to continue my work.”

Scheduled for release 24 April, 1000 units of the box set will be available. Each will consist of 7 x vinyl – POLE 1 – blue vinyl / POLE 2 – red vinyl / POLE 3 – yellow vinyl / Raum 12″ black vinyl. Order a copy from Mute.



1. Modul
2. Fragen
3. Kirschenessen
4. Lachen
5. Berlin
6. Tanzen
7. Fremd
8. Paula
9. Fliegen
10. Modul


1. Fahren
2. Stadt
3. Streit
4. Huckepack
5. Hafen
6. Weit


1. Silberfisch
2. Taxi
3. Karussel
4. Überfahrt
5. Rondell Zwei
6. Klettern
7. Strand
8. Fohlenfurz

Bonus 12″.


Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, wp-settings,


These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

Adsense, Facebook, Google Adwords


Our website uses tracking software to monitor our visitors to understand how they use it. We use software provided by Google Analytics, which use cookies to track visitor usage. This software will save a cookie to your computer’s hard drive to track and monitor your engagement and use of the website, and to help identify you on future visits. It will not store, save or collect personal information.

Google Analytics, Facebook