Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: De Ambassade – Duistre Kamers

Three years after his arresting first release for Knekelhuis, ‘Wat Voel Je Nou‘, soon followed by the equally tasteful ‘Verloren‘ 7″ in 2017, Pascal Pinkert puts on his De Ambassade guise again with ‘Duistre Kamers‘, taking his retro-laced, eerie synth pop blends into full-length grounds for the first time. Accompanied by Timothy Francis on bass, Pinkert has cut and polished what – we’ll dare taking the bets here – will undoubtedly sit as one of this year’s finest debut albums, hands down.

Best example of De Ambassade’s idiosyncratic take at a “deeper Dutch language narrative celebrating free speech and thought” as the label very wisely notices, the title-track ‘Duistre Kamers‘, which also opens the LP, sails us off to a realm of velveteen warmth and subdued basement atmospherics; its weathered guitar riffs, percs and FX-altered vocals set deep into woozy textural folds and layers, as the bass and synths wash over in pleasurably penetrating onslaughts. Mad good.

Duistre Kamers is released via Knekelhuis on 9th September, pre-order a copy from Bandcamp.


A1. Duistre Kamers
A2. Zo Hoog Als De Bogen
A3. Geen Genade
A4. Malefica
A5. Verloren
B1. Niet Van Mij
B2. Wat Voel Je Nou
B3. Laatste Uur
B4. Wapengekletter

Discover more about De Ambassade and Knekelhuis on Inverted Audio.