Search and Hit Enter

Lost Paradise: Blissed Out Breakbeat Hardcore 1991​-​94

"Carefully woven threads of Sheffield bleep ambience, rave futurism,
and soul-synchronised synth pads are dewy drops of pure club-floor epiphany"

Blissed Out Breakbeat Hardcore – do we need to convince you anymore, if the title does not already itch under your nose, late-night cravings for a slight misbehaviour detour into the cosy murks of the underground?

A breakthrough compilation, ‘Lost Paradise: Blissed Out Breakbeat Hardcore 1991-94‘ sprouts peripheral visions of glory, as cleverly intended, rough frenzied breaks on a big merger multiverse of 90’s nostalgia, curated with excellent taste by Sam Purcell and Tammo Hesselink for London’s Blank Mind label. Within its hallowed rhythms, particularly niche to the UK, carefully woven threads of Sheffield bleep ambience, rave futurism, and soul-synchronised synth pads are dewy drops of pure club-floor epiphany.

Ruptured breakbeat is the sound of liberation—the more aggressive, the better. The 2×12″ beauty of a record articulates a collective consciousness of a generation, the aftermath of which we continue to thrive gregariously. Core narratives of social-political injustice of its time slither within layers of jungle-massive, like its other sonic genre friends. In the record’s reference, it happens to be local neighbourhood outlaws, striving against the harshest anti-rave Criminal Justice Act that befell the UK during the times of Thatcher.

Each track on the record is a forgotten realm, laced with the memories of the lads dancing deep in the early UK burrows, reality out-of-touch, only sound, only rhythm of the body, only mass escapism. Listen closely to DJ Mayhem’s ‘Inesse‘, Skanna’s ‘This Way’, Hedgehog Affair’s ‘Parameters‘, to name a few, a strong dose of calibrated ecstasy from creators lost and found once again, each time a curious mind finds its way to the earth’s centre.

‘Lost Paradise: Blissed Out Breakbeat Hardcore 1991-94’ is scheduled for release on the 25th March via Blank Mind. Order a vinyl copy from Inverted Audio Store and digital from Bandcamp.


1. Sleep Walker – Age Of Aquarius (L.D. Remix)
2. Hedgehog Affair – Parameters
3. DJ Mayhem – Inesse
4. Luxury – Twirl
5. The Invisible Man – The Flute Tune
6. Escape – Escape ( The Optical Mix)
7. Skanna – This Way
8. Xray Experiments – Techcore

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, wp-settings,


These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

Adsense, Facebook, Google Adwords


Our website uses tracking software to monitor our visitors to understand how they use it. We use software provided by Google Analytics, which use cookies to track visitor usage. This software will save a cookie to your computer’s hard drive to track and monitor your engagement and use of the website, and to help identify you on future visits. It will not store, save or collect personal information.

Google Analytics, Facebook