Search and Hit Enter

Cromby delivers a potent mix for Newtype Rhythms

After a sabbatical amongst the star systems, our sister mix series, Newtype Rhythms, returns with a zestful episode in tow.

There are few artists that enrapture the dancefloor like Cromby; an artist whose poise in their productions is only matched by their moxie as a selector. Witnessing Cromby’s energetic sets is clearly a delight; whether it be the enigmatic wave of local support from Belfast’s AVA Festival or most recently on his B-2-B set with Sally C on Boiler Room “Streaming From Isolation” series – the consistent escalation of simmering acid, house and techno lead to unimaginable peaks that can be hard to match. Luckily, there’s a way to get to that summit with relative ease – courtesy of the launch of his very own imprint, Potency Records.

On 16 October, the Berlin-via-Belfast talent will unleash ‘Potency 001′, a three-tracker that cuts right to the point – with titles like “Shake It“, “Try Acid” and “Ahhhh” – the message is clearly aimed towards the lovers of the dancefloor, yearning for days gone by and hopefully soon, days ahead. A melding of old-school of old-school rhythms and new-school flavours, the EP is an evolution of Cromby’s sound, after honing his craft on heavyweight labels such as Feel My Bicep and Unknown To The Unknown.

To commemorate this occasion, Cromby delivers an efficacious mix for Newtype Rhythms and we cannot wait for you to dive in and take the plunge yourself. Cromby’s mix starts off at 44 minutes in, with resident Sheepshead warming things up per usual.


00:00 – 44:14 – mixed by Sheepshead

1. Imaginary Softwoods – Yellow Calcite II
2. Hypho – Coke n Cream
3. Pearson Sound – Everything Is Inside Out
4. Mor Elian – Clairvoyant Frog
5. Calibre – Horange
6. Henry Greenleaf – Rumble
7. A Made Up Sound – Disconnect
8. Machinedrum – DDD
9. Barnt – Under His Own Name But Also Sir
10. Redshape – Leaves
11. Maarten van der Vleuten – Sandalwood

44:33 – END – mixed by Cromby

1. D. Tiffany & DJ Zozi – You Bring Me [Planet Euphorique]
2. Violet – Search and Find [SOS Music]
3. Auratekh – The Earth Question [Auratekh]
4. Bliss Inc. – Duchovny Dream [Snippets Music]
5. Mystic Menn – Fantastic Jam [Pelvis Records]
6. Mr. Ho & Mogwaa – Bail-E [Klasse Wrecks]
7. Bliss Inc. – Transitions [Radiant Love]
8. Obscure Seduction Series – Sonic Waves [Obscure Seduction Series]
9. Shanti Celeste & Saoirse – Solid Mass [Love International Recordings]
10. AceMo – Heaven [HAUS of ALTR]
11. C++ – Iterator (Reiterated) [Vizual Records]
12. Radioactive Man – Tits and Bubbles [Wangtrax]
13. Zenker Brothers – Transcending [Ilian Tape]