Search and Hit Enter

Objekt returns to PAN for second album ‘Cocoon Crush’

Four years on since the release of his acclaimed debut full-length, ‘Flatland‘, Objekt returns to Bill Kouligas’ PAN with his sophomore LP, ‘Cocoon Crush’, scheduled for landing on 9th November.

Continually impressive in the studio and DJ booth, TJ Hertz has been “maintaining his reputation as a DJ who deploys impeccable technical finesse in crafting elaborate narratives from a diverse and challenging palette of electronic music“. Written between 2014 and 2018 in Berlin and on the road, ‘Cocoon Crush‘ is said to mark “a further evolution from the youthful exuberance of Flatland“.

Exploring “a more introspective side, with themes of human interaction resonating throughout the record as it ruminates on a spectrum of complex moods rooted in 4 years of sometimes turbulent personal experience“, the album represents an “aesthetic departure from Flatland’s largely synthetic tonality, drawing from organic source material and natural textures to illustrate perplexing and unfamiliar sceneries in photorealistic detail“.

As a foretaste, you can now listen to the first single ‘Secret Snake‘, which blends the teeming organicity of Hertz’s most daring sonic experiments with exploded rhythmic interplays out Bristol’s 3rd millennium’s fuming ruins and Berlin’s ravaged fallout shelters, as imagined by Philip K. Dick. While “ghostly synth passages weave through mind-bending, weighty drums, and ASMR-triggering foley collages scrape and sparkle“, the mind-expanding, kaleidoscopic richness of Objekt’s compositions shows all the more whelming and vibrant.

Cocoon Crush is released via PAN on 9th November.


1. Lost and Found (Lost Mix)
2. Dazzle Anew
3. 35
4. Nervous Silk
5. Deadlock
6. Rest Yr Troubles Over Me
7. Silica
8. Runaway
9. Secret Snake
10. Another Knot
11. Lost and Found (Found Mix)

Discover more about Objekt and PAN on Inverted Audio.