Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Kaukolampi – Part VII

With a collection of tracks by Timo Kaukolampi, We Jazz Records inaugurate their new reworks series. Every ten releases, the Helsinki label will invite an artist to reinterpret material from that section of their catalogue. With no limits prescribed beyond the source material, artists are free to take the project in whatever direction they wish.

As a part of K-X-P, Timo Kaukolampi has been making kraut-leaning alternative rock since the mid-2000s. He’s also one half of Kaukolampi & Puranen, whose immersive soundscapes have served as scores for several features in the past several years.

For this solo project, the Finnish artist is working under his surname, delivering We Jazz-sampling drone and ambient pieces. Our pick from the release is ‘Part VII’, a track whose flickering nostalgia-soaked synths unexpectedly give way to a cacophony of saxophone around the 3-minute mark.

‘We Jazz Reworks Vol.1’ is scheduled for release 30 July via We Jazz Records. Order a copy from Bandcamp.


1. Part I
2. Part II
3. Part III
4. Part IV
5. Part V
6. Part VI
7. Part VII
8. Part VIII
9. Part IX
10. Part X