Search and Hit Enter

Sad City returns to Phonica with ‘Introduction To Lisboa/ Sloe’

Sad City returns to Phonica’s Special Editions imprint with his stunning new 6 track ‘Introduction To Lisboa/Sloe’ EP with artwork by London based designer Jack Featherstone.

Since the first listen, I’ve been coming back for more, intrigued by the dense layers of field recordings of Lisbon and the seamless transitions from track to track. Sometimes it’s even hard to work out what’s what, is that a trumpet or a recording of a car horn?

I wanted the music and field recordings to meld at times, to obscure what was conventionally the musical element and what were field recordings, blurring the line between found sound and composition in the creation of a whole other.

Opening track ‘Introduction To Lisboa’ builds and builds from near silence to a cacophony of field recordings and looped horns. It melds into ‘Baixa Saxaphone’, where carefully paced percussion patiently enters over a wash of synth. From then on a delicate balance of restrained percussion and spine-tingling atmospherics interplay before descending into a blissful outro. However the highlight has to be ‘Apricot‘.

If you’re a fan of Tycho, Christopher Willits and Boards Of Canada then make sure you check out this record. Introduction To Lisboa/Sloe is released on 27th October 2014 via Phonica Special Editions.



A1. Introduction To Lisboa
A2. Baixa Saxophone
A3. Scyphozoa
B1. Apricot
B2. Sloe
B3. Stream

Discover more about Sad City and Phonica Records on Inverted Audio.

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, wp-settings,


These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

Adsense, Facebook, Google Adwords


Our website uses tracking software to monitor our visitors to understand how they use it. We use software provided by Google Analytics, which use cookies to track visitor usage. This software will save a cookie to your computer’s hard drive to track and monitor your engagement and use of the website, and to help identify you on future visits. It will not store, save or collect personal information.

Google Analytics, Facebook