Search and Hit Enter

Biosphere uses vintage analog hardware on ‘Shortwave Memories’ LP

Following the release of ‘Angel’s Flight‘ through AD 93 in January, today Norwegian ambient producer Biosphere announces his next full length, scheduled for release in January via his own imprint Biophon Records.

Presented as a continuous sonic journey using vintage analog hardware, as hinted by the adopted Roland logo on the album cover, ‘Shortwave Memories‘ is said to be “inspired by the post-punk electronic music of the late 70’s and early 80’s, especially the productions of figures like Martin Hannett and Daniel Miller.”

“The last few Biosphere albums have all been made using samples and software, but Shortwave Memories is a return to vintage analog hardware from the late 70s and early 80s. Most of these instruments do not have any presets or memory storage, so all the sounds were programmed from scratch. The idea was not so much to make music that sounds like it was written in the same period. It’s more like what would happen if I had the chance to use the same instruments, and applied the same meticulous attention to detail as the producers mentioned above.”

‘Shortwave Memories’ is scheduled for release 21 January via Biophon Records. Order a copy from Bandcamp.


1. Tanß
2. Interval Signal
3. Night Shift
4. Formanta
5. Shortwave Memories
6. Infinium
7. Shruthi-12
8. Transfigured Express

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, wp-settings,


These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

Adsense, Facebook, Google Adwords


Our website uses tracking software to monitor our visitors to understand how they use it. We use software provided by Google Analytics, which use cookies to track visitor usage. This software will save a cookie to your computer’s hard drive to track and monitor your engagement and use of the website, and to help identify you on future visits. It will not store, save or collect personal information.

Google Analytics, Facebook