Search and Hit Enter

Lo Recordings mark 20th anniversary with ‘Its Been Hell’ compilation

London based imprint Lo Recordings have announced the release of a 20-track compilation ‘Its Been Hell’ featuring original tracks and remixes from the likes of Aphex Twin, Nathan Fake, Ulrich Schnauss, Auntie Flo, Squarepusher, Hot Chip, Plastician, Grimes, NZCA Lines and a whole load more.

Lo Recordings was founded in 1995 by Jon Tye, at a time when record labels only seemed to release one type of music, since then Lo have been responsible for releasing an innovative catalogue of music that has spanned everything from house, easy listening, ambient, electronica, drum and bass, music concrete and country and western.

In 2000 Gavin O’Shea joined the Lo team and the label entered a second phase, in some ways less experimental and more based on artist albums but no less diverse or interesting. One of the first bands that Lo signed were The Chap, an amazingly accomplished and quirky band with their own distinct style and world view. Other Lo artists include Richard Thomas, Red Snapper, Susumu Yokota, Black Devil and more recently Grimes.

Lo also established two offshoot imprints that enabled them to release an even broader diversity of music from French mavericks Gable, American medieval metalheads Extra Life to homegrown artists NZCA Lines on ‘LoAF‘ and Plastician, Pier Bucci, James Holden and DJ Koze on ‘LoEB‘.

‘Its Been Hell’ is scheduled for release 25th November 2016. For further information head over to their dedicated website. On Friday November 4th Lo Recordings & state51 present: A Festival Season of Light in London, full info here.


Disc 1 – Original Tracks

1. Slack Dog – Ruf Dog
2. Hairy Butter – Office Tart
3. Jamois & Chant – Talma
4. Tom Furse – The Ocean Is Teacher
5. Hatchback – Midnight Jogger
6. Cursor Miner – Sport of Kings
7. The Chap – We Work In Bars
8. NZCA Lines – Okinawa Channels
9. Grimes – Heartbeats
10. Rothko / Yokota – Lit By Moonlight

Disc 2 – The Remixes

11. The Mike Flowers Pops – Debase (Aphex Twin Remix)
12. Hairy Butter – I Came When I Heard (DJ Godfather Remix)
13. Luke Vibert & Jean Jacques Perrey – Moog Acid (Plastician Remix)
14. The Chap – Woop Woop (Hot Chip Remix)
15. Dark Captain – Questions (Hatchback’s Multiple Choice Dub)
16. Richard Thomas – Plate Core (Squarepusher Remix)
17. Vincent Oliver – Cluods In The Haed (Nathan Fake Remix)
18. Black Devil – To Ardent feat Nancy Sinatra (Grosvenor Radio Remix)
19. Red Snapper – Village Tap (Auntie Flo Remix)
20. Zoon Van Snook – The Gaits (Ulrich Schnauss Remix

Discover more about Lo Recordings on Inverted Audio.