Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Certain Creatures ‘Colour Me In’

On October 30th, multi-instrumentalist and experimental producer Oliver Chapoy aka Certain Creatures returns with the beautiful ‘Vipassana‘, a debut long-player to be released via Brooklyn-based Styles Upon Styles.

Chapoy’s carreer goes back into the ’90s Miami hardcore scene with Shai Hulud, dabbling in synth-pop with Warm Ghost later on before recently collaborating with Stuart Argabright on BASH005 and Black Rain’s ‘Dark Pool‘, which he co-produced.

Vipassana‘ clearly makes for a stepping stone in the American producer’s catalogue. It’s an overwhelming journey through subtly-evolving audioscapes and boundary-pushing hardware bricolages, each track giving vent to a restless millefeuille of textural arrangements and fierce melodic soarings while creating the kind of dysnarrative impact that’ll leave you dazed for good.

Vipassana is released via Styles Upon Styles on October 30th.


01. Vikara
02. Passages
03. The Suffering Seas (ft. ShadowBox)
04. Je est un Autre
05. In Safety of Cold Light (ft. Jon Philpot)
06. Nightwalker
07. Colour Me In
08. Damo
09. An Allegory for the Dispassionate
10. Nothing Changes
11. Intervals

Discover more about Certain Creatures and Styles Upon Styles on Inverted Audio.