Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Illum Sphere – Red Glass

Since his debuts on Fat City in 2009, Manchester-based producer Illum Sphere became a regular on a variety of top-class labels out there, contributing choice releases to Martyn’s 3024, Tectonic, Bleep, Young Turks and more importantly Ninja Tune for which he delivered no less than five releases in just three years.

Following up to his debut LP ‘Ghosts Of Then And Now‘, released two years ago via shinobis’ favourite imprint, Ryan Hunn returns with his second long-player ‘Glass‘, said to move further in the direction hinted by his ‘Spectre Vex‘ and ‘Second Sight‘ twelves. Hunn explains: “I wanted to make an album very different to the first, one with a different palette, pace and energy”.

On this first extract, the graceful ‘Red Glass‘, Illum Sphere shows the most delicate facet of his work, setting up a fragile balance between xylophonic stabs and vibrant strings whilst subtle percussions flutter in and around at various frequencies. Indicative of this change in “situation and style” as Hunn puts it himself, the track validates this new orientation in the most compelling way.

Glass is scheduled for release 4th November 2016, order a copy via Ninja Tune.


1. The Journey
2. Fall Into Water
3. Red Glass
4. Wounded
5. Oracle
6. Fuel The Fire
7. River
8. Thousand Yard Stare
9. Paradise

Discover more about Illum Sphere and Ninja Tune on Inverted Audio.