Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Marquis Hawkes ‘When I Get Home’

At the end of the month, Berlin-based producer Marquis Hawkes returns with ‘Sweet‘ EP, a four-tracker of soul-infused house cuts which also makes for his third instalment on Houndstooth.

Here’s a first taste of the EP with an exclusive stream of the opening track ‘When I Get Home‘: all about shuffling-house patterns and mellow R&B vocals. Relax, it’s Summer again.

Following the excellent ‘Raw Materials‘ released a few months back on the London imprint and a recent excursion on Hong Kong’s Homesick, Marquis Hawkes delivers a much less techno-inflected slice, delving deep into a honeyed bazaar of soul and disco samples. The English producer gets back to the essence of his jacking floor-lighter ‘Can’t Find A Reason‘ with a more lazed-out use of breaks and drops to offer a more spacious and inner-directed dance object.

Sweet EP is released via Houndstooth on October 30th, order a vinyl copy from Juno


A1 When I Get Home
A2 At The Witness Stand
B1 Sweet
B2 What A Relief

Discover more about Marquis Hawkes and Houndstooth on Inverted Audio.

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, wp-settings,


These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

Adsense, Facebook, Google Adwords


Our website uses tracking software to monitor our visitors to understand how they use it. We use software provided by Google Analytics, which use cookies to track visitor usage. This software will save a cookie to your computer’s hard drive to track and monitor your engagement and use of the website, and to help identify you on future visits. It will not store, save or collect personal information.

Google Analytics, Facebook