Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Mateis E. Aqir – Sacred Heart

Where a catchy melody, rhythmic backbone or driving bassline are more or less easy to copy and emulate, the atmosphere of a track is something that bypasses all kinds of magic formula or practical breakdown. Fully geared towards creating this sense of enveloping immersion and equally unique and minutely crafted soundscapes, Catalonia-based artist Mateis E. Aqir is quickly establishing as one of the most singularly gifted ambient musicians around.

Fresh off his excellent debut 12″ release on Seattle’s ever on point Jungle Gym Records, Mateis returns with a new tape album, ‘Born To Be Sand‘, due out via Seb Wildblood’s imprint All My Thoughts in a few days. Lifted from this vibrant 10-track journey across dense sonic foliage and dreamy riverside clearings, our pick ‘Sacred Heart‘ holds the Spanish producer’s signature mix of faux organic lushness, understated psychedelia and deep meditative power in its heart.

Fusing a wide array of instruments and field recordings, Aqir delivers a track 100% aimed at healing your sore city-dweller senses with lavish sonic canvases that blur the line between ethereal house, bespoke post-balearic exoticism and tribal percussion. If you haven’t heard Aqir yet, here’s your chance. As Roberto Juarroz beautifully said: “Give up on your biography / and not recognise your own data / is to lighten the load for the voyage / like hanging up an empty frame / for the landscape to fix without wasting its breath.” Mateis’ music seems to echo just that.

Born To Be Sand is released via All My Thoughts on 30th July, pre-order a copy from Juno.


1. Far Away
2. Sacred Heart
3. Higher Ground
4. Ceremony
5. Flangering Evening
6. Apollo Rising
7. Dune Secrets
8. Emisor Edo
9. Desert Prince
10. Last Tóto

Discover more about Mateis E. Aqir and All My Thoughts on Inverted Audio.