Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Max Dahlhaus – A Cracked System

After releasing the stunning and powerful ‘Augury By Birds‘ EP from Miedo Total and a Ukrainian benefit compilation, ‘4UA‘, packed with Czech scene talent, Prague’s Unizone label summits its next mountain with a high-octane release from Max Dahlhaus.

By all accounts, ‘A Cracked System‘ EP serves as a potent reminder of the label’s quality, looking equally to the label’s past and its future. Dahlhaus, who has released with Infinite Machine, New York Haunted and Hyperboloid Records, and collaborated with the likes of PIXELORD, positions himself at the brink of the ever-changing coastline of music and art, forever mixing contrasting and comparable themes to emerge with inventive patterns and structures.

Across the EP, Dahlhaus delivers — according to Unizone’s formula — four original tracks, topped with stunning art from Luna Woelle and stirring remixes from T5UMUT5UMU, alongside new faces to the label NAJIB, xl.iks, and Liliane Chlela. The titular track melds together air-shaking hard drum workouts that, in their broken rhythm, punch the atmospheric synth melodies out of focus with their weight, building a disorienting sound design structure that triggers muscle memory reactions of hair-raising club adrenaline.

In tandem with the release, Unizone also plan a well-overdue club night, bringing Dahlhaus’ live set to Bike Jesus (situated within the Fuchs2 nightclub complex) on 27 May, alongside a lineup of locals including Evil Medvěd live, Dmitrievna, notsureyet, and Ancestral Vision B2B FFFHHH.

‘A Cracked System’ is scheduled for release 27 May via Unizone. Order a copy from Bandcamp


1. Anhedonia
2. Stymied Cycle
3. A Cracked System
4. Hata Ara
5. Anhedonia (Liliane Chlela remix)
6. Stymied Cycle (Najib remix)
7. Stymied Cycle (T5UMUT5UMU remix)
8. A Cracked System (xl.Iks brrr edit)