Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Max Graef – DB 4

As 2022 draws to a close, Danish imprint Tartelet Records take a moment to  reflect with a choice V/A compilation spanning ambient, downtempo and meditative music from label staples and new additions.

Medusozoa Vol II‘ includes brand new material from Tartelet regulars such as Space Ghost, Glenn Astro and Uffe. There are also label debuts from Brynjolfur, Doc Sleep and Sans Merit (a new project by Francis Inferno Orchestra). Label head Emil Margetli Nyholm explains that the tracks were “all carefully selected for their healing qualities”.

Our pick comes from Berlin-based producer Max Graef. Executed with his signature carefree flair, ‘DB 4’ sees the artist leaning into wonky digi dub. The artist keeps things stripped back on this one, allowing plenty of room for exploratory synth noodling.

‘Medusozoa Vol II’ is scheduled for release 30 November via Tartelet Records. Order a copy from Bandcamp.


1. Space Ghost – 4 AM
2. Zopelar – Rio
3. Employee – Jel
4. ABUNAI, kissingpractice – Deep Sea Baby (Glenn Astro Remix)
5. Sans Merit – Sick Bag
6. ABUNAI – Pure Heart
7. Glenn Astro – Spiral
8. Max Graef – DB 4
9. Space Ghost, Nelson of the East – Emotional Healer (Nelson of the East’s Forever Dub)
10. Doc Sleep – California Bum Out
11. Brynjolfur – Pater
12. ABUNAI, kissingpractice – 1993 Amboy Ave
13. Max Graef – Mulholland Drive
14. Glenn Astro, Ajnascent – Homespun
15. Uffe – Sunrise, Coffee & Cigarettes
16. Athlete Whippet – IDon’tWannaBe
17. Modula – Cala Olivera
18. Nelson of the East – Tribe 92
19. Zopelar – Rebirth
20. Henry Wu, Tito Wun – Peruvian Gold Theme