Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Nathan Fake – Now We Know

Perhaps best known for his early output on James Holden’s imprint Border Community, Nathan Fake rose to prominence back in 2006 with his debut LP ‘Drowning In A Sea Of Love‘, an album that has since become a timeless staple in the realms of leftfield electronica and post-KLF trancey ambient. Ahead of the release of his forthcoming LP and just in time for Christmas, the Norwich-based producer will release his first record of the year via Ninja Tune on 2nd December 2016.

Over the past decade Nathan Fake has continued to forge his unique sonic explorations and discography with two additional albums for Border Community, three 12″s on Traum and another split with DJ Koze on Pampa. Nathan also took the leap and set up his own imprint Cambria Instruments in 2014 alongside fellow B.C. producer Wesley Matsell.

On ‘DEGREELESSNESS‘, Nathan delivers a solid two-track 12″ featuring a collaboration with NYC-based resident Prurient aka Vatican Shadow (founder of Hospital Productions) and an original track of his own hand, which Nathan explains to be “an attempt at a more traditional house track, built around a sample, Casio keyboard drums and FM synth, crushed onto cassette tape. It was written and recorded in a single afternoon in London, circa 2010.”

Although our music probably seems pretty different from each others on the surface, I felt there was a strong link from a rhythmic and melodic standpoint, and I admired his vocal performances in his Prurient material which were both charismatic and masculine but not tiresomely so” says Nathan.

“‘DEGREELESSNESS’ started off as a 16 bar loop jam which I’d adapted from an existing melodic composition, building rhythms around it with his voice in mind. Dominick [Prurient] delivered a spoken word vocal piece inspired by the track, the lyrical content of which is heavily obscured in the final piece, purposefully so, the whole piece becoming lost in its own echoes, with the human voice emanating from the gaps in between.

DEGREELESSNESS is released via Ninja Tune on 2nd December 2016. Order a copy from Ninja Tune.


A. DEGREELESSNESS feat. Prurient
B. Now We Know

Discover more about Nathan Fake and Ninja Tune on Inverted Audio.