Search and Hit Enter

Doon Kanda: Labyrinth

"Ominous, dramatic and fiercely creative, 'Labyrinth'
represents everything we’d expect from Jesse Kanda"

In a recent interview with Dazed, Jesse Kanda commented on the shape of his artistic direction, as “making a world that I belong in, that couldn’t be taken away from me”. His debut album ‘Labyrinth’, released on Hyperdub under his alias Doon Kanda, seems to encapsulate this embrace for the weird and the wonderful as a descent into some controlled madness.

A prominent visual artist as well as a musician, Kanda is adept to designing hyper-real visual artwork for artists such as Bjork, Arca and FKA Twigs, his art being showcased in world-renowned spaces such as the MoMa in New York and the Liquid Room in Tokyo.

Ominous, dramatic and fiercely creative, ‘Labyrinth‘ represents everything we’d expect from Jesse Kanda following his last two releases ‘Heart‘ and ‘Luna‘, yet the effect is nothing short of explosive. Opener ‘Polycephlany‘ resembles witnessing a haunted orchestra descending into the darkness; synthetic piano keys are punched with rigor as the track climbs to a crescendo. ‘Nastasaya’, an ornate nod to the fallen heroine of Fyodor Dostoevsky’s novel ‘The Idiot’, employs an ominous melody atop a groovy beat.

Dio’, a sinister mash up of sounds, plays between wavering synths and off kilter rhythms, suitably unsettling for Kanda’s exploration of the uncomfortable. The beauty in decay and loss is something Kanda tends to explore in his artwork as well as his music, and the figures he creates – though obtuse and grotesque – also prove moving somehow.

Gut’ moves along the fringes of a Dean Blunt-esque slow, steady beat and keyboard drones, moving between pop and trip-hop, while ‘Forgive’ employs an Avril 14th-like serenity – the piano eerily raw as if echoing down a dark, empty hallway. When the closer ‘Entrance’ rings out in a waltz-like fashion, the uplifting strings themselves evoke that of an ethereal symphony.

If ‘Labyrinth‘ often feels like Kanda is trying to permeate some part of the psyche and expose our hopes and fears in opaque tableaux of sorts, the result lives up to his high-flying intentions more often than not.

‘Labyrinth’ is out now via Hyperdub. Order a copy from Bandcamp.


1. Polycephaly
2. Dio
3. Gut
4. Enigma
5. Wing
6. Nastasya
7. Pieridae
8. Mino
9. Search
10. Bunny
11. Garnet
12. Forgive
13. Entrance

Discover more about Doon Kanda and Hyperdub on Inverted Audio.

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, wp-settings,


These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

Adsense, Facebook, Google Adwords


Our website uses tracking software to monitor our visitors to understand how they use it. We use software provided by Google Analytics, which use cookies to track visitor usage. This software will save a cookie to your computer’s hard drive to track and monitor your engagement and use of the website, and to help identify you on future visits. It will not store, save or collect personal information.

Google Analytics, Facebook