Search and Hit Enter

Music Video: Zoon van snooK & Kayla Painter – Cusco Everfrost

Following the release of Zoon van snooK‘s fourth album ‘Se·pa·ra·ción’ in April, we are premiering the music video for Kayla Painter‘s lightweight “Everfrost” version of ‘Cusco’.

The Brownswood affiliated artist’s touch frays the edges of the plaintive keys of the original into a wispy ambient version, at once warmed by the depth of the frequencies as it is chilled by the glitched abstraction of the original. Angelic vocals harmonise with dub-like bursts of FX and fractured arpeggiators.

The video, produced by Sam Wisternoff (Gravenhurst, Invada Records) embraces the chilled acoustics, casting blurred images into a glacial frame of blue and white, digital striations carving the picture into a febrile memory of the original. At times haunting, and at times oddly comforting, the video balances the essence of the track whilst framing it in a surreal world — it’s hard to imagine the video and audio being composed separately of each other.

‘Se·pa·ra·ción’ LP is out now on Lo Recordings. Order a copy from Bandcamp.


1. The Coral & The Hummingbird
2. Zócalo
3. ¡Madre!
4. Rocinha
5. Lago
6. Subachoque
7. Selva
8. Cusco
9. Dead Woman’s Pass
10. Teotihuacan

ArtistLabelReleased3 April 2020Genre