Search and Hit Enter

Decca opens its vaults to Henrik Schwarz, Fort Romeau, Kate Simko and more

Founded in 1929, Decca grew from modest beginnings – in the shadow of the then dominant forces of HMV and Columbia – to become one of the leading players in classical music. Helped in part by riding at the forefront of technology – with pioneering work in full frequency recording range, long player format and stereophonic recording – it survived the second world war, mergers and closures to become an iconic label that was, at one point, the world’s second largest.

At one point renowned for its reproductions of opera and showcasing fresh talent through out the seventies, it is now firmly established as the leading player for classical and Broadway scores. In recent times, it has begun to diversify, branching out into popular music through acts like Boyz II Men and America Idol’s Clay Aiken. With jazz, country and western, rock and pop covered, it has now opened up to the world of electronic music.

Invited in to tackle the masters and contemporary composers of classical music alike are some of the scenes most promising lights on ‘Re:works‘. With the lines between the classical and electronic world becoming increasingly blurred – thanks to the likes of Erased Tapes, Ricardo Villalobos and Max Loderbauer deep dive of the ECM catalogue and Carl Craig & Moritz von Oswald’s excursion on Deutche Gramophon – Decca finds its feet now firmly planted on the dancefloors of house and techno.

Comprising 17 tracks, the compilation sees Kate Simko continue her journey bringing classical music together with the strains of Chicago on Satie’s Gnossienne No.1, Manchester’s playful tea loving Mr. Scruff tackles Steve Reich’s 6 Pianos, and Ghostly International and Running Back artist Fort Romeau also goes deep on Satie’s 4 Preludes Flasques. You’ll see names such as Beethoven, Debussy, Bach, Grieg, Schubert and Bartók rubbing shoulders with Ulrich Schnauss, Francesco Tristano, Martin Buttrich, Starkey and Sébastien Tellier.

Re:works is released via Decca on 15th July 2016, pre-order a vinyl copy now. Re:works EP 1, featuring remixes from Starkey, Kate Simko and Martin Buttrich, is out now.


1. Grieg – Peer Gynt (Death Of Aase) (Solomon Grey’s Paradise Lost Rework)
2. Bach – Air On G String (Wolfgang Voigt Ambient Rework)
3. Bach – Prelude And Fugue In C (Ulrich Schnauss Rework)
4. Fauré – Requiem (Sanctus) (Extended Faultline Rework)
5. Satie – Gnossienne No.1 (Starkey Remix)
6. Beethoven – Moonlight Sonata (Sébastien Tellier Rework)
7. Debussy – String Quartet (Assez Vif Et Bien Bien Rythmé) (Henrik Schwarz Rework)
8. Reich – Six Pianos (Mr Scruff Extended Rework)
9. Schubert – Schwanengesang (Standchen) (Kate Simko Remix)
10. Satie – 4 Préludes Flasques (Fort Romeau Rework)
11. Holst – The Planets (Neptune) (Thomas Gandey’s Extended Cosmix Rework)
12. Bartók – Hungarian Sketches (Bear Melody) (Brigante Rework)
13. Satie – Gnossienne No.4 (Martin Buttrich Extended Remix)
14. Bach – Air On A G String (Wolfgang Voigt Wassermann Rework)
15. Sakamoto – Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence (Francesco Tristano Rework)
16. Rachmaninov – Vespers “bogoroditse Devo” (All-Night Vigil) (Alberto Bof Rework)

Discover more about Decca on Inverted Audio.