Search and Hit Enter

Listen back to a stirring set from Sophia Saze on Newtype Rhythms

It can be difficult to hit the right nerve between the genres of house and techno, depending on emotion, groove, melody and percussion, it can either be a bumpy ride or a smooth operation. Then, someone like Sophia Saze comes along and just makes it look easy in comparison.

The Brooklyn-via-Tbilisi multimedia artist has been making waves for a couple of years now, with her fluid DJ sets between North and South America and a release of her track “Flux” on Get Physical’s Words Don’t Come Easy series. However, this year marks another turn for the artist – as she propels her label ‘Dusk & Haze‘ towards the forefront with her Solace EP (scheduled for release on September 25th 2017). A strong set of tracks that feature an array of bright colours poking through monochromatic kicks, Saze assures that her sound is an ever-present reminder that the dance floor is a fluid experience that is not beholden to limitation.

Yet, while she presents that with her own productions on her forthcoming release, she also displays it with grace and tact in her guest mix for Newtype Rhythms – blending vibrant house with fervent techno and even ending ever so appropriately with The Doors. Check out her mix from the show down below – which always starts with resident Sheepshead at the beginning – this week playing tracks from Datasmok, Herva, Klein, Len Faki and more.

Solace EP is scheduled for release 25th September 2017, order a copy on Juno.

Photo by Gabriella Lincoln


00:00-48:40 – Mixed by Sheepshead

01. Klein – Tommy
02. ItaloJohnson – B1
03. Mosca – It’s Not What It Looks Like
04. Scuba – Family Entertainment (Ø [Phase] Remix)
05. James Ruskin & Mark Broom – Dod
06. Progression – Surge
07. Len Faki – Rainbow Delta
08. STFSHD – 1.0
09. Datasmok – 004
10. Truncate – Process
11. Lag – Liman 2
12. Aquarian – Hamburglar Helper
13. Q3A – The Nameless Place
14. Tobias Schmidt – Hot & Heavy
15. Here – Slam The Laptop

48:40-END – Mixed by Sophia Saze

01. Intrustion – Twilight
02. Intrusion – Reflection
03. Ohm Hourani – Les Jardins
04. Nina Kraviz – Free
05. Psychemagik – Black Noir Schwarz (Deaf Pillow Remix)
06. 2 Bit Crew – T.D.T.A.V.
07. Leon Vynehall – Wahness
08. Liem – If Only Lehult
09. Justin Cudmore – Forget It
10. Daniel Maloso – Hijos De Jose
11. Levon Vincent – Late Night Jam
12. Palms Trax – Paws
13. Loop Jacker – House Music I Love It
14. Trikk – Mozam
15. Levon Vincent – Can You See
16. Kiki Gyan – Disco Train (Judge Funk DJ Edit)
17. Nick Hoppner – Forced Resonance
18. Premiescu – Bucur
19. Ishmael – Time & Time Again
20. Ruven – Pour
21. Laurence Guy – W.Y.L.B.
22. Jay Bliss – Zambet De Soare
23. FYI Chris – No Hurry
24. The Doors – The End

Discover more about Newtype Rhythms on Inverted Audio.