Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Rahsaan Nova – Selfishness

Utrecht-based record label Something Happening Somewhere are set to drop a bold 12-track compilation featuring the likes of Ian Pooley, Mark Du Mosch, Tripeo, Luna Ludmila and Dutch newcomer Rahsaan Nova.

The tracks are bound together primarily by the diversity of sounds offered, rather than a cohesive pattern, which makes for some really intriguing deep listening. Whilst highlights abound on the album, we’ve selected Rahsaan Nova’s ‘Selfishness‘ as our premiere.

The 2.5 minute skit bursts with light and colour, layers of harmony drift up in the cracks between the gently shuffling percussion. Vocal jabs of a distinctly post-dubstep vein splash up as the track rolls on by, conjuring views of fourth-and-fifth world producers like Ramzi and rRoxymore. It’s a brief tour, but a fulfilling one.

‘NOWHERE02’ is scheduled for release 24 April via Something Happening Somewhere. Order a copy from Bandcamp.


1. Stijn Sadée – Fading Ocean
2. Rahsaan Nova – Selfishness
3. RDS – smwajkb 06:26
4. Dave Ellesmere – Niagara Falling
5. Luna Ludmila – Sway
6. Ian Pooley – Picture Palace
7. Mark Du Mosch – In A Flash (e)
8. Freek Fabricius ft Yuna – Astronaut Prinses
9. Tjade – Scintillate
10. Joannes – Macrodub
11. W1bo – Rough Balance
12. Tripeo – Propaganda