Search and Hit Enter

Premiere: Winterdagen – Westerkerk (Ineffekt’s Spring Dream)

With the original landing last year on Sweden’s 1631 Recordings, Winterdagen’s ‘Phase In’ EP has just undergone the remix treatment. The Rotterdam-based artist has enlisted 8 musicians to reinterpret tracks for this self-released remix project. To complete the release, Tjitske Oosterholt has also reworked her original artwork from the EP.

The name Westerkerk is taken from a church in Amsterdam that dates back to the 17th century and is located near the city’s Jordaan neighbourhood. The original track certainly has a meditative quality to it that might conjure images of similarly tranquil spaces.

Our pick from ‘Phase In (Remixes)’ is Ineffekt’s remix of Westerkerk. The Amsterdam-based artist flexes his production chops on his “Spring Dream” mix, taking Winterdagen’s melancholic and meditative original and imbuing it with a real sense of urgency.

‘Phase In (Remixes)’ is out 27 August via Winterdagen Records. Order a copy from Bandcamp.


1. Westerkerk (Noe Gonzalez Remix)
2. Up North (Timberline Lodge’s Time Warp)
3. Phase-In (Jilk Is Not Kenny Segal Remix)
4. Westerkerk (Ineffekt’s Spring Dream)
5. Up North (Imhotel Edit)
6. Westerkerk (Barmus Remix)
7. Twee (Ruben Kotkamp Rework)
8. Phase In (Hamu remix)