Search and Hit Enter

Studio Barnhus line up debut album from Swedish duo Shakarchi & Stranéus

Gothenburg-based production duo Shakarchi & Stranéus first burst onto the scene in 2010 with their ‘Dödskallar Och Korallrev‘ EP, a dreamy piece of carefree melodicism comprised of five cuts of playful, animated house music that drew equally from disco, Chicago house and dub.

That extended player was also the second ever release on noted Swedish label Studio Barnhus, headed up by Axel Boman, Petter Nordkvist and Kornél Kovács. Since then, the label has gone from strength to strength, releasing over 50 records from the founders and an ever-widening circle of friends and collaborators, including HNNY, Baba Stiltz, and Wesley Matsell.

After acclaimed releases on Malmö’s Geography Records and HNNY’s label Yummy, Shakarchi & Stranéus return to Studio Barnhus this March with their debut album ‘Steal Chickens from Men and the Future from God’. The head-scratching title is a fitting description for the record, a wildly colourful, sample-heavy trip into the shared headspace of these two exuberantly imaginative producers.

Steal Chickens from Men and the Future from God is scheduled for release 23rd March 2018, available in digital, CD and DJ-friendly double-vinyl LP. Order a copy from Juno.


A1. Multi Orchestral House Sound
A2. Hammond Fireworks
A3. Marcy Son What
B1. Hessingen
B2. Kungssten Bus Stop Riddim
B3. Path Mountain Square
C1. Waayaha Cusub
C2. Jenin Grill Dreams
C3. Wudzele Obeme
D1. The Return Of Uncle Benon
D2. K&f’s Favorite
D3. Wheel Of Fortune

Discover more about Shakarchi & Stranéus and Studio Barnhus on Inverted Audio.