Search and Hit Enter

Helm signs to Dais Records, announces ‘Axis’ LP

Following two hyper-experimental albums on PAN, today Helm announces the release of his sixth album ‘Axis‘ on Gibby Miller and Ryan Martin’s LA via NYC-based imprint Dais Records.

Joining the ranks of recent label signings Space Afrika and Xeno & Oaklander, Luke Younger characterises the creation of ‘Axis‘ as a liberating return to roots: “It felt like going back to the beginning, it felt freeing.”

Composed during lockdown between his studio in Essex and kitchen / living room, guest contributors include Lucy Railton (cello), Mark Morgan of Sightings (guitar), Alex Tucker (vocals), and the late, legendary John Hannon (violin) further enrich the record’s bristling palette.

Lifted from the press release – the album’s unique immediacy stems from Younger’s instinctual muse, reactivating raw methods with fresh energy. “I turned back to working with noise techniques again: more primitive equipment, cheap FX, contact mics, noise boxes.”

The result is a dense sonic journey through abstract electronics, noise and industrial. Highlights from the album include ‘Moskito‘, ‘Crash‘ and ‘Tower‘. Ahead of its release, listen to ‘Repellent‘ via the player below.

‘Axis’ is scheduled for release 12 November via Dais Records. Order a copy.

Photo by Alex Gutnik


1. Para
2. Moskito
3. Crash
4. Repellent
5. Mole
6. Axis
7. Tower